Optical Radiology Labs at Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Joseph Culver

Joseph Culver

Professor
314-747-1341
culverj@mir.wustl.edu
Washington University School of Medicine
Department of Radiology
4515 McKinley Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110

Education

  • University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia PA Department of Physics and Astronomy, Doctor of Philosophy in Physics, May 1997. Research Advisors: Arjun G. Yodh and Robin M. Hochstrasser.
  • University of Washington, Seattle WA Bachelor of Science, Physics, May 1988
  • Whitman College, Walla Walla, WA Bachelor of Arts, Math-Physics, May 1985

Research Interests

Dr. Culver’s lab explores ways of exploiting non-invasive optical measurements for both functional- and molecular- biological imaging. Specifically, Culver’s group develops subsurface optical tomography for imaging intrinsic, hemoglobin-sensitive contrasts, and exogenous, molecularly-targeted-fluorescent contrasts. Using hemoglobin contrasts, a portable and wearable brain imaging device is being developed to expand the range of human behaviors that can be assessed with functional neuroimaging techniques. In another project, fluorescence tomography systems and methods are being developed to image the bio-distribution of molecularly targeted probes in small animal models of disease.

For an up to date list of Dr. Culver's publications please see his entry on PubMed.

Google Scholar

Lab Members 

 

Metasebya Solomon

Metasebya Solomon

Postdoctoral Research Associate
314-747-6353
solomonm@mir.wustl.edu
Martin Olevitch

Martin Olevitch

Research Programmer Analyst
(314) 747-6353
marty-orl@cosray.wustl.edu
Steve Liao

Steve Liao

Clinical Fellow
Ralph Nothdurft

Ralph Nothdurft

Senior Research Technician
(314) 362-6942
nothdurftr@mir.wustl.edu
Brian R. White

Brian R. White

Graduate Student, Dept. of Physics
314-362-6942
bwhite@physics.wustl.edu
Karla Bergonzi

Karla Bergonzi

Ph.D. Candidate Biomedical Engineering
(314) 362-6942
bergonzik@wustl.edu
Jonathan Bumstead

Jonathan Bumstead

Ph.D. Candidate
610-220-4410
jrbumstead@wustl.edu
Matt Reisman

Matt Reisman

Graduate Student
Matt Reisman
mreisman@wustl.edu
Dolon Maji

Dolon Maji

Ph.D. Candidate
7167048391
dolonchampa.maji@wustl.edu
Patrick Wright

Patrick Wright

Ph.D. Candidate Biomedical Engineering
pwwright@wustl.edu
Inema E. Orukari

Inema E. Orukari

MD/Ph.D. student in Biomedical Engineering
(314) 362-6942
orukarii@wusm.wustl.edu
Andrew Fishell

Andrew Fishell

Ph.D. Student in Neuroscience
(314) 362-6942
andrew.fishell@wustl.edu
Arefeh Sherafati

Arefeh Sherafati

Ph.D. in Physics
(314) 728 2437
arefeh@wustl.edu
Zachary Markow

Zachary Markow

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering
(314) 362-6942
zemarkow@wustl.edu

ORL Updates:
Alumni News- Samantha Corber


Michel M. Ter-Pogossian Professorship Installation



©2011 Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology     Last Modified on April 21st